A Hollywood Workers’ Compensation lawyer will assist you in understanding the legal system. It was designed to safeguard workers who have been the victims of accidents on the job. In Florida, these benefits are available to injured workers, regardless of the cause, which means that an employee can collect workers’ compensation benefits regardless of whether or not he is the one responsible for the incident which caused their injuries.
A Hollywood personal injury attorney can assist you in the event that you’ve been injured at work. A workers compensation lawyer who is familiar with the law can provide you with free consultation.
Table of Contents
Are you covered by the workers’ compensation insurance?
Some workers may be concerned that their employer doesn’t have workers’ comp coverage which leaves them exposed in the event of an accident. Thankfully, except for the exception of a few exceptions, the vast majority of employers in Florida are covered by the system of worker compensation.
Employers from other industries other that are not construction related must have workers’ compensation coverage. Those employers in the construction industry must carry insurance to cover every employee who requires workers’ compensation when they employ one or more employees. An Miami Florida workers compensation lawyer can give you more information.
What to Do If You’re injured at work?
There are a few things to consider should you be injured in an accident on the job. Before you contact an attorney for workers’ compensation, you must notify your employer immediately. That means you must inform the immediate supervisor, or some other person who is in the position of authority at the office.
This notification can happen in person, orally, or in writing. When you notify your employer, you should ask them to complete the notice of injury promptly so that you can be certain that the claim will make its way to your employer’s insurance company.
If you’ve been injured , you should also seek medical treatment. See the on-site physician in the event that your company has one. If not, you can consult your physician. It is important that you seek medical attention as soon as you can to ensure your injuries are recorded and can’t be challenged in the future. Once you’ve been notified by your employer and have received medical treatment, you are able to contact a personal injury lawyer who is well-versed in Florida workers’ compensation to seek assistance.
What is the best moment to report an injury?
Employees who are injured should report the work-related accident immediately however, they should report the accident at least 30 days from the date the incident occurs. If you do not report your injury within 30 days of the incident, your claim could be at risk of being rejected.
What happens if the employer Isn’t able to report the injury?
Apart from reporting the incident to your employer, your employer is also bound by their own obligations. Your employer has to notify their insurer quickly in order to ensure the claim is dealt with in a timely manner and you can start receiving your benefits as quickly as possible. It is also possible to contact your insurance company to report the incident if they do not accept.
The insurance company for workers’ compensation information should be posted somewhere in the office. It should include the contact information of the insurance company. If it is not, contact the workers’ compensation office in Hollywood, Florida, the Employee Assistance, and Ombudsman Office, for help to locate this information. Alternatively, call a local Miami Florida workers compensation attorney to get assistance.
Are Workers’ Compensation Claims the same as lawsuits?
People who haven’t faced workers’ compensation claims before may find this confusing. While it might appear that the worker’s compensation claim is the same as a lawsuit against your employer, the reality is very different. The worker’s comp claim isn’t a lawsuit against your employer. It is instead a claim against the insurance policy your employer purchased. An experienced attorney for workers’ compensation can help you to learn more about workers ‘ compensation law.
Can you sue instead of making a workers’ compensation claim?
What if you’d rather file suit against your employer , or coworker rather than file the workers’ comp claim, is that allowed? Unfortunately, no. In Florida as well as other states Workers’ compensation is what’s known as an exclusive remedy. A worker is not able to bring an injury claim against their employer even if they have made a workers’ compensation claim. The only exceptions are claims for workplace injuries which involve a third-party. However, these can be filed in courts. If someone from another business comes into your workplace, and injures you, you may pursue a civil action against the other business however, not against your employer.
Workers’ Compensation Claim: How do you determine if the claim is at fault?
The system of workers’ compensation is operated on a “no fault” basis. This is unique in comparison to other personal injuries. That means workers’ compensation benefits are paid regardless of negligence or the specific reason for the injury. This is good for employees. It removes the necessity of blaming your boss or your coworkers. This helps speed up the process , since an investigation of the cause of the incident does not need to take longer.
It’s also good because employees don’t have to worry about being left with high medical costs if they are to blame for the incident. An employee’s fault is only relevant if an injury was caused by alcohol or with the intention of hurting the person. In these situations, the workers’ comp claim is able to be denied. If the claim is denied even if the person who is accused of the crime is innocent, contact a Miami, Florida workers compensation attorney as soon as you can.
What advantages can a Miami Workers’ Compensation attorney have to offer?
Employers are obliged to take care of medical expenses that result from a workplace accident. Workers are also entitled to compensation for any time they are not able to work due to these injuries. These benefits will be paid at two thirds of your pre-injury daily wage. Another good thing is that workers’ compensation benefits aren’t tax-deductible, which means much of what you get goes into your pocket. This can all be taken care of by a workers compensation lawyer. A good lawyer for workers’ compensation must have a deep understanding of all aspects of workers’ compensation insurance.
How long can you continue to receive benefits from workers’ compensation benefits?
Florida workers can continue to be eligible for wage loss benefits when they aren’t on any type of work. Workers can be eligible for as much as 104 weeks of benefits.
What Happens if You Are Still injured after 104 weeks?
It’s wonderful to know that workers who are injured have the right to receive 2 years of benefits. But what happens if you’re badly injured and you don’t recover within two years? In this case you might be eligible to receive permanent disability benefits. These permanent total disability benefits can be claimed until the time a person is 75 years old if the injuries are severe enough.
Can You Choose Your Own Doctor?
While there are certain exceptions to this general principle, workers’ comp cases generally do not allow the employees to pick their own doctor. This is due to the fact that most cases are resolved by the insurance company. That being said, as an injured worker you have the right to submit a once-only change of doctor request. If the insurance company does not pick a new doctor to consult with within five days of your request, you’ll be able to visit the doctor of your choice. Get the advice of an Miami Florida workers compensation attorney to get his or her recommendations on the best options for you.
What is the deadline for filing a claim? I need to submit a claim to Workers’ Compensation in Miami?
The maximum time to file a claim for benefits is actually two years. This is subject to change based on the particular situation. While workers have two years to file claims, any delay in reporting an injury to their employer, or seeking medical attention could be detrimental to or completely reduce your chances of receiving benefits. In this regard, it’s crucial to be quick to get in touch with an experienced Miami Florida workers compensation attorney to start the claim process. For more details, click here. about the statute of limitations in Florida for workers compensation claims.
Can You Be Fired As a result of a Worker’s Comp Claim?
It is a frequent concern for injured workers that if they come forward with a workers’ compensation claim, they may be penalized or dismissed by their employer. There’s absolutely no reason for workers to be afraid of being dismissed for filing a workers’ compensation claim. This should be cause to be worried. The workers’ compensation lawyer and the employer need to be well-informed about how workers’ compensation insurance works.
Employers in Florida are not permitted to fire workers because they filed claims with an attorney for personal injury for workers’ compensation insurance. Employers could face civil liability in the event of firing someone for making a workers’ compensation claim. If that happens, the worker could be able sue the employer for unfair dismissal, and could possibly recover damages from the lawsuit.
If you’ve been the victim of injury on the job in Miami then you must notify your employer immediately and seek medical care. After that, you should contact a Miami Florida Workers Compensation Lawyer for a complimentary consultation to determine the next steps to do to aid you in obtaining the time off from work.